And our new Chair is…James Newman!

We are pleased to announce the former Chairman of the Sheffield City Region LEP, James Newman, is to be appointed as Chair at our AGM in May.

The Chair is responsible for the overall direction of South Yorshire’s Community Foundation and Mr Newman was selected for the huge wealth of experience he has working with organisations in the charitable and private sectors and alongside national and local government partners.

The former Master Cutler and current chairman of Finance Yorkshire, founded the Sheffield City Region LEP in 2010 and led the City Region in creating the strong City Region private/public sector partnership and securing major funding deals from Government, including the historic £900 million Devolution Deal he signed with the Chancellor in October last year.

Ruth Willis, CEO of SYCF said:
“We are so pleased that James has agreed to be our next Chair and very much look forward to working with him. He is well known throughout Yorkshire and the north in business and social circles, which will help the Foundation grow and attract funding so we can continue our work supporting local communities.

“He has made an impressive contribution to the Sheffield City Region in his previous role as Chairman of the LEP, which during his tenure gained the reputation as one of the leading LEPs in the country.

“James also brings a breadth of leadership experience and insights from his work with both local and national charities, which will be invaluable to the Foundation.”

James Newman said:
“I am delighted to have been selected as the next Chair of SYCF, which is celebrating its 30th anniversary this year. Its reputation for being a caring organisation and supporting the local communities of South Yorkshire is well established and I look forward to working with my fellow Trustees, Executive team and other partners and patrons to continue this most important work.”

Mr Newman will take up his post from the Annual General Meeting of the Foundation on 19 May 2016 for an initial five year term and will replace Giles Bloomer, OBE DL, who stands down at the same meeting.